An experience with things

I have always curated every purchase made as a consumer. As far as I can remember, purchasing anything was a detailed cat and mouse game of finding the perfect item for the perfect price. Now, when I say perfect price, it also meant (at times) a price with one too many zeros following after it. And, alas, there have been times, where the item has not been as perfect as it was meant to be.

Let me start with saying, I do not purchase anything online. The only exception are plane tickets, because… who still purchases them from travel agents anymore?! What this translates to is that I do not always purchase an item at the best (aka cheapest) price, and I do not get access to all brands possible.

As a consumer, it is nice to feel empowered to purchase anything, at anytime, from anywhere. But, as an individual, I see (too much) accessibility sometimes as a barrier to appreciate the act of a purchase. Why? Because you fail to go on the hunt for that great store, you fail to physically go down and touch the item you want to buy, and you fail to witness the swiping of you card (or passing of cash, whichever it is) when you pay. All of which create awareness of the experience of a purchase. To me, that is the very essence of what it is ‘to purchase’.

This also means that I get to enjoy going to a different country (place, location etc.) to purchase something. The element of anticipation, of the peculiarity of the item to the place is associated with each purchase. As much as sometimes I may think, “oh I wish I could get my hands on that”, I acknowledge the fact that I can’t.

Perhaps with globalization, with accessibility being so prized, many independent businesses are not able to survive because they are not able to meet with the demands of international accessibility to their items/services. Despite being a millennial (although I seem to have almost have none of the typical characteristics of my generation), I like exclusivity that comes with a small-scale business, especially if being small-scale is part of the particular business’s business ethos.

Sometimes I find a wonderful alternative where I am; sometimes I wait for the next opportunity to get it where it can be found. I want to write about my experience buying things, and my thought process behind each purchase, whether big or small. This is the review matrix I will adopt:

  1. Brand philosophy/history.
  2. Quality.
  3. Price.

I have a couple of posts already lined up! Remember, as much as life is complicated and difficult. It is meant to be enjoyed. With the right mechanisms in place, there is no reason why all of us (including underpaid millennials) can’t.

Leave a Reply

