The (Not So) Perfect Closet.

IMG_0234

Do you every think to yourself during a commute to work or any commute in general, “how the hell does this person look so put together?” I do. Ohhhhh, yes I do.

I have spent the best part of the last 6 to 8 months sorting out my closet. Mainly, removing things I just did not wear or things that were worn too much and needed to be chucked. This on-going exercise has resulted in a very limited wardrobe, which I very much enjoy because it means all (well most) of the items I still have in my possession are the ones I really use. While this may outwardly seem like a positive thing, there is a very big “BUT” in this equation. I tend to wear the same thing over and over again. And, unfortunately, the things I like to wear are oversized t-shirts and jeans (with my often cited beloved Birks of course). How does this exactly translate into a problem? Easy.

  1. I have lost my sense of eclectic style while trying to minimise my wardrobe. Although physically seeing a closet filled with only white, navy, olive green and black is extremely comforting, it’s also psychologically unsettling.
  2. Everything wears out fast. I have never been that much of a shopper. When I find that perfect (white/black/blue) shirt, there are times were I’ll buy 2 of the same just because I’m afraid I’ll not find the same quality/fit again. I’ve read many a blog about buying quality stuff so it lasts longer but how is it that no matter what type of shirt I buy, it never seems to get that last everyone speaks of.

It has come to the point that the minimising, both in terms of colour palette and in terms of consuming/purchasing less has now caused me some distress. Not as much, nor in the way having too much stuff had, but enough to make we want to write this post. To some extent, I think it lies with finding some sort of comfortable balance, which I’m sure is different for anyone. Mostly, I think it’s being able to find a compromise between a minimalistic aesthetic, quality and affordability. I am finding this tough, very tough.

If you’re encountering the same problem as I, feel free to leave a comment. I’d love to share some thoughts on the subject!

 

Leave a Reply

